The new UEMOA Commission


The eight Commissioners of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA) were sworn in on 9 May 2017. In accordance with Article 28 of the UEMOA Treaty, the swearing-in ceremony took place at the UEMOA Court of Justice in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. Ms Joséphine Ebah Touré, President of the Court of Justice, recalled the responsibilities of the Commission as guardian of the Treaty and the effective implementation of acts adopted by the Union’s various bodies. The Commission is the Union’s executive body in charge of ensuring the proper functioning of the Union. It is composed of eight members, called Commissioners, who are nationals of UEMOA Member States. On the basis of one commissioner per State, they are appointed by the Conference of Heads of State and Government for a renewable, four-year term. The new Commission includes only one female member, Fily Bouaré Sissoko from Mali, in charge of the Department of Enterprise Development, Energy, Telecommunications and Tourism. Three former Commissioners have been reappointed: the Togolese Essowè Barcola who remains in charge of the Department of Administrative and Financial Services (DSAF); Ibrahima Dieme of Guinea-Bissau, who now heads the Regional Market, Trade, Competition and Co-operation Department, and the new Commission President, Abdallah Boureima of Niger, who was previously in charge of the Department of Economic Policy and Internal Taxation.


Statement of the Court of Justice President (French)

Statement of the new UEMOA Commission President (French)